Hubris – it’s my middle name.

Posted: February 21, 2012 in Running

Hubris: ” Hubris often indicates a loss of contact with reality and an overestimation of one’s own competence or capabilities” – from Wikipedia, not that I really approve of Wikipedia.

So, a mere fiver this morning, known in the trade as a “Michelle” – (Pfeiffer…oh, go on, think about it.) Flushed with success from the weekend I foolishly thought a brisk run towards Jagger’s Clough might be in order.

Jagger's - On a sunny, summer's day....unlike..

The clough itself runs away to the west, as in the picture, but what I had forgotten was the climb, the descent and the climb again to get in and out of the clough in an attempt to make a five mile loop…..so, after a 230 metre ascent, I sit here at my kitchen table hoping that the mug of tea, pot of coffee, high-carb snack bar and, shortly, lunch, might actually make me feel better….However, I did get five miles in before 0800…51:52 since you ask.

I may need a nap…

Leave a Reply

