John Renbourn

Posted: March 30, 2015 in Music
In November 2013 my friend David celebrated his 60th birthday. We thought it would be a good idea to celebrate with a surprise party and booked John Renbourn to play – my friend having been a fan since the 1960s. John made the trip from Hawick to Edale in his converted ambulance and was at first sceptical as to why he was not able to mention the gig on his website. Once the nature of the event was explained, John quickly entered into the spirit of things and started working on a set list he thought David might like. The sound check was a delight – and in my professional life I have sat through many that were not – with John punctuating various tunes with anecdotes  of past colleagues and other figures from the folk world; many, sadly, are not repeatable. John played two storming forty-five minute sets and even jammed with David and another friend on a couple of R&B standards at the end of the evening; the sense of fun he displayed and the respect he showed to amateur musicians will long stay in my mind. We begged John to stay the night and enjoy more food and drink – and we wanted to hear more of his stories too. He insisted he had to get back home; “I’d love to stay and have a drink”, said John with his broad grin, ” ..but once I start I don’t stop”. And off he drove to Hawick.
I engineered John’s gig that night and I can honestly say he is one of the nicest people I have ever worked with A great musician and a great man, genuinely interested in the world and the people about him.
Here’s John and two unlikely new colleagues:
Leave a Reply

